Norwegian version of this page



The NORMENT centre is headed by professor Ole A. Andreassen (Oslo). Deputy directors are professors Ingrid Melle (Oslo) and Vidar Steen (Bergen).

The scientific management consists of eight core researchers with complementary expertise from different disciplines:

Each core researcher is the head of a research group. There are also seven other group leaders at the centre with their own research groups. Altogether, these groups constitute NORMENT's 15 research groups

Governing Board

  • Dag Kvale,(chair), Professor, Head of Department, Institute of Clinical Medicine, University of Oslo
  • Marit Bjartveit, Clinic Manager, Division of Mental Health and Addiction, Oslo University Hospital
  • Timothy Brennen, Professor, Research Dean, Faculty of Social Sciences, University of Oslo
  • Hans Olav Instefjord, Director, Division of Psychiatry, Helse Bergen
  • Inger Hilde Nordhus, Professor, Vice Dean for Research, Faculty of Psychology, University of Bergen
  • Marit Bakke, Professor, Vice Dean for Research, Faculty of Medicine, University of Bergen

Scientific Advisory Committee

The Scientific Advisory Committee consists of internationally renowned scientists who evaluate the research activities at NORMENT and give advice to the centre, as well as taking an active part at the annual meetings:

  • Peter Falkai, Professor, Ludwig-Maximilian University, Munich, Germany
  • Terry Jernigan, Professor, University of California, San Diego, USA
  • Michael Green, Professor, University of California, Los Angeles, USA

User Council

NORMENT has established a User Council that provides input to research strategy, gives advice on practical research protocols and helps with recruitment of participants and assists in dissemination activities. The members of the User Council are:


NORMENT has a close collaboration both with national and international researchers, and several international guest researchers are affiliated with the centre.

Published Apr. 18, 2013 9:59 PM - Last modified Mar. 26, 2020 3:03 PM