The Lancet One Health Commission

One Health is the recognition of the interaction between humans, animals and the environment as a prerequisite for understanding and managing global health threats.

Co-Chairs of the Lancet One Health Commission Dr. John Amuasi MD and Prof. Andrea Winkler MD

What shall the commission achieve?

UiO Lancet Commission on One Health will contribute to creating awareness about One Health and the challenges we as a society are facing, as well as contributing to new knowledge in the area through research.

Why is this important for UiO?

As a leading player within education and research, the UiO Lancet Commission on One Health is an important contribution to the university’s life science initiative and follow-up of the sustainable development goals which is high on the UiO agenda .

The Commission

The Lancet One Health Commission is hosted by the Centre for Global Health at University of Oslo (UiO). The Lancet has nominated the two co-chairs: Dr. John Amuasi, Kumasi Centre for Collaborative Research in Tropical Medicine at the Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, Ghana, and Prof. Andrea Winkler, Centre for Global Health at UiO and Center for Global Health at the Technical University of Munich. A core group comprising of staff from the Centre for Global Health at UiO, WHO and Imperial College is driving the direction, design and implementation of the Commission.

Read more: Objectives of the One Health Lancet Commission


The concept of One Health

The One Health approach aims at demonstrating the synergistic benefit and added value of an integrated approach to human and animal health as well as environmental Sciences.

Read more: The One Health concept


The Commissioners

This initiative will convene approximately 20 Commissioners from around the world who are experts in One Health related fields over a period of three years. These experts will be split into working groups, culminating in an evidence-based Commission report and conference in 2021. An advisory group of senior experts will be formed and consulted where appropriate.

Prof. David Heymann CBE

London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine & Centre on Global Health Security, Chatham House, London.




Dr. Uzoma Nwankwo

Federal Ministry of Health, Nigeria.

Dr. Thelma Alafia Samuels PhD

Director of the George Alleyne Chronic Disease Research Centre, the University of the West Indies in Barbados.


Dr. Matthew Stone MVS

Deputy Director General, International Standards and Science, World Organisation for Animal Health (OIE).

Dr. Barbara Haesler PhD

London Centre for Integrative Research on Agriculture and Health, Royal Veterinary College, University of London.

Dr. Ricardo Thompson PhD

National Institute of Health, Mozambique.


Dr. Anna Okello PhD

Research Program Manager, Livestock SystemsAustralian Centre for International Agricultural Research.


Dr. Juan Lubroth PhD

Chief Veterinary Officer, the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO).

Prof. Maria Lapinski PhD

Director, Health and Risk Communication Center, Michigan State University.

Dr. James J. Sejvar MD

Neuroepidemiologist, Division of High-Consequence Pathogens and Pathology, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Atlanta. Assistant Professor, Department of Neurology, Emory University School of Medicine. Consultant Neuroepidemiologist, Duke-NUS Graduate Medical School, Singapore.

Dr. Wendy Harrison PhD

School of Public Health, Faculty of Medicine, Imperial College London & Executive Director, the Schistosomiasis Control Initiative.

Dr. Osama Ahmed Hassan Ahmed PhD

Department of Community Medicine and Global Health, University of Oslo. 

Dr. Lucille Blumberg MD

Deputy Director, the National Institute for Communicable Diseases of the National Health Laboratory Service, South Africa. Founding head of the Division of Public Health Surveillance and Response.



Prof. Ning Xiao PhD

National Institute of parasitic Diseases, Chinese Center for Disease Control and Prevention.

Prof. Sundeep Sahay

Research Group for Information Systems, Department of Informatics, University of Oslo.

Prof. Eric Fèvre PhD

Institute of Infection and Global Health (IGH), University of Liverpool & International Livestock Research Institute, Nairobi.


Dr. Bernadette Abela-Ridder

Department of Control of Neglected Tropical Diseases, World Health Organization.

Dr. Peter Daszak PhD

President, EcoHealth Alliance.

Prof. Barbara Natterson-Horowitz MD

The University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA) & Department of Human Evolutionary Biology, Harvard University, Cambridge. 



Prof. Jürgen May MD

Department of Infectious Diseases EpidemiologyBernhard Nocht Institute for Tropical Medicine, University of Hamburg.

Dr. Franck Berthe PhD 

The World Bank.

Prof. Jakob Zinnstag PhD DVM

Swiss Tropical and Public Health Institute, Basel.



Published Jan. 21, 2019 3:26 PM - Last modified Jan. 15, 2020 9:39 AM